Where Land Ends

Finisterre reveals itself on the westernmost coast of Spain about 100 Kilometers West of Santiago.  The Romans saw the sun setting into the distant waters and thought this was where the land (and Western world) ended, which gave rise to the name of Cape Finisterre (from Latin, meaning end of the earth).  Many pilgrims continue the extra distance passed Santiago, whether by bus or foot, arriving at the lighthouse with the stone and shell, noting there are 0.00 km left.  There is really no more walking to do.

I made my way on a beautiful path until I reached the ocean.  I felt the softness of the sand even through the thick boots– the same boots that had walked almost every possible terrain over the last five weeks.  There was blue everywhere and I thought, what a brilliant and extraordinary way to end The Way.

I looked at the ocean and raised my hands.  I felt my consciousness expanding and vibrating, becoming one with everything around me.  Suddenly, I felt the soft touch of hand on my right shoulder.  Since I was completely by myself, I turned my head in great surprise.  A woman smiled at me, kindly, and handed me a feather.  She said that she saw me from the distance and that I reminded her of…Reiki.  Amazed, I looked into her good eyes and smiled.  She gave me a gem that she dug out of the natural path near the water and, when I expressed my deep gratitude, she smiled and left, leaving a beautiful trail of footsteps in the sand.

That night, I stayed in a humble hotel where I could hear the ocean waves and seagulls at night.  I filled up the tub with hot water, and sunk myself in it with gratitude and exhaustion.  It was nice to feel the support of water, carrying and holding my body afloat, without the need to counteract gravity or any kind of weight.  I recalled the woman with the feather, and realized how full of unusual and magical moments my Camino has been.  It was an ordinary path, but there was really nothing ordinary about it.  It was a necklace of gifts, handed to me- moment to moment, day after day.

I put the feather on the nightstand aside my bed, and fell asleep to the marvelous ocean sounds.

This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Land Ends

  1. Inbal says:

    I love the way you describe the path you followed: “It was an ordinary path, but there was really nothing ordinary about it. It was a necklace of gifts, handed to me- moment to moment, day after day.”

  2. Malcolm says:

    Hope many more share experience your experiences. Hope to be there this Sept. Plan to finish at the World’s End, to go all the way. Thanks for all your postings.

    • Good luck, Malcolm! Finisterre is lovely. I’ll be walking the Via de la Plata this spring 2012 and look forward to writing, sharing, and inhaling all that’s going to come up. Buen Camino!

Leave a comment