Epilogue

I’m sitting in a trendy cafe in Tel Aviv, and quickly find myself drifting to what feels like a far-off land of magical paths, golden fields, and many steps– no two steps alike.  It is the first time that I actually sit down with the intention to write, other than my daily journal and notes along the Camino.  To my surprise, the connection to that far-off land is instant, and I realize that I brought some of the magic and fields back with me.

A common question on the Camino was, what made you do the Camino?  While giving my usual answer one sunny afternoon, I realized that the reason had greatly changed from when I first started walking.

I got to know Northern Spain in ways I didn’t think were possible.  I witnessed and participated in how it all changed- moment to moment, day after day.  I immersed myself in endless fields of gold, in freshest green, in dreamy blue.  I learned about the land and became one with it.  I was moved by human connection– a smile, a gesture, a spark in the eye.  I found my innermost rhythm and learned what it felt like to be in and out of sync.  I discovered how it all started, and smiled when it came together at the end. 

And in all of it, I met myself.

I’m gonna keep walking.

This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Epilogue

  1. Congratulations Michal for completing your physical journey and internalizing your psychic one. I wish you continued magic in the unfolding of your new life.

  2. Fattaneh says:

    it must feel great to know oneself.isn’t it true that a lot of things start from within?? Congratulations !!
    miss you a lot.
    love,Fattaneh

  3. Inbal says:

    I deeply relate to your description: “And in all of it, I met myself”. Wishing you many more profound insights as you keep on walking the Camino.

Leave a comment